PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Extremely slow internet connection

camel_brother
June 28th, 2008, 11:57 AM
Hi,

I'm new to ubuntu.
I've installed ubuntu 8.04 (GNOME). I have Thomson TCM425 modem connected to my cables ISP and to my computer via USB (the Ethernet port of my network card is used to connect to my other computer). I'm not using a dial-up, but an always-up internet connection.
Ubuntu identified everything during installation, and immediately I had internet connection working.
The problem is that it is very very very slow (I'm using dual-boot with WinXP, where it is more than 10 times faster). I've read many posts and tried everything they suggested (to disable ipv6) including "playing" with /etc/hosts, /etc/modprobe.d/aliases, /etc/modprobe.d/bad_list, about:config, /etc/sysctl.conf, etc.

Well, nothing helps me.
Strangely, I experienced this behavior with Ubuntu 7.10 too, and that was one of my reasons to upgrade to 8.04.

Please help me (remember I'm a newbie) !

Camel (camel_brother@hotmail.com).

superprash2003
June 28th, 2008, 05:05 PM
is it only slow browsing speed or even slow download speed?

camel_brother
June 30th, 2008, 10:13 AM
Hi superprash2003,

Thanks for your reply.

The answer to you question is that it is extremely slow both when browsing and when downloading (for example update manager downloads...).

Leeming
June 30th, 2008, 01:26 PM
This seems like the exact same problem i am having..
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=844454

Help would be very appreciated as it will be helping two people =)

~edit~ Dont put your email in a format like that.. popular forums are searched all the time using search engine bots.. and also spam bots.. and email harvesters. tip: if your ever want to give an email out, remove @ with [at] and . (dot) with [dot]

camel_brother
June 30th, 2008, 08:18 PM
I hope someone will help us both :-)

Leeming
July 5th, 2008, 01:57 AM
Did you ever resolve this? if so i would like to know how :)

Frenske