PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newly Installed Ubuntu Not Starting?

mirchichamu
June 27th, 2008, 08:36 PM
I installed Ubuntu. I am new to Ubuntu.Everything was ok. I started windows. after that I wanted to switched to Ubuntu. But it is not starting.It goes beyond the boot screen, But then stop before putting the user name and pass. Only there are lines on screen.

I am in trouble. I don't know what to do? Please help me.

overdrank
June 28th, 2008, 07:08 AM
I installed Ubuntu. I am new to ubuntu.Everything was ok. I started windows. after that I wanted to switched to ubuntu. But it is not starting.It goes beyond the boot screen, But then stop before putting the user name and pass. Only there are lines on screen.

I am in trouble. I don't know what to do? Please help me.

Hi and are you able to boot into recovery mode? It is usually the second choice from the grub when booting. If you boot recovery mode then you can try the command startx.

mirchichamu
June 28th, 2008, 01:40 PM
Thanks a lot. I tried that several times but of no use. I tried even to reinstall but that also failed. It is not going beyond Location.

I need further help pleaase.

overdrank
June 28th, 2008, 01:45 PM
Thanks a lot. I tried that several times but of no use. I tried even to reinstall but that also failed. It is not going beyond Location.

I need further help pleaase.

Hi and could you give us some system specs?
Have you checked the cd for errors and also MD5SUM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

Samhain13
June 28th, 2008, 01:49 PM
Lines... could it be that your monitor is out-of-sync? When you hit CTRL-ALT-F1 can you get to a terminal screen?

mirchichamu
June 28th, 2008, 01:55 PM
Hi and could you give us some system specs?
Have you checked the cd for errors and also MD5SUM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

Thanks overdrank for your support. My computer Fujitsu-Siemens laptop with 1.7 centrino processor, 512 Ram and 80 GB Hard Disk.