PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Switching parents to ubuntu

cha0s_unity
June 27th, 2008, 03:20 PM
Hey guys. My parent's keep having trouble with XP and i'm trying to get them to change over to Ubuntu. My parents are not very computer minded people and only use the computer for basically using internet, email, pictures, and the like. I can't think of anything that a fresh install of 8.04 doesn't have they would need. However I am still fairly new to Ubuntu and feel I should ask to see if anyone recommends adding anything that my parents may need. So if anyone knows anything I should put on their machine let me know

Could someone also clear up for me the difference in add/remove applications and synaptic packet manager? Here's how I understand it. Add/remove has the most used programs from the Ubuntu repository, and synaptic has all programs from ubuntu and other compatible repositories. Is this right?

-- Thanks for your help

tamoneya
June 27th, 2008, 03:25 PM
here is how I think of package manager and add/remove:

add/remove = programs and things that go in the menus on gnome panel

package manager = everything in add/remove + libraries + everything else needed to run the OS (kernel headers are in there)

To ease the transition it may help to change the theme on them just so that it actually looks like windows. I know it may seem like a small thing to someone like you or me but to some one who doesnt know computers well if things arent where they always were they get very confused very quickly. Many people like your parents may have trouble if the windows start button suddenly moved to the lower right instead of lower left. Someone like you or me wouldnt think twice about the UI change.

zeller
June 27th, 2008, 03:32 PM
Only thing I can think of is actually a question.