PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] VT6656 USB Wireless

e_swallie
June 27th, 2008, 01:03 AM
I am trying to setup a Via VT6656 USB wireless card on my system but i am very new to Linix and cant get it to work. Has anybody used this device and has it working on thier ubuntu system?

i am running ubuntu version 7.10

chili555
June 27th, 2008, 03:01 AM
This may help. It's all I can find on your device. http://www.logicsupply.com/blog/2008/01/02/building-the-vt6656-linux-driver-for-ubuntu/

e_swallie
June 27th, 2008, 10:56 AM
well i am not at the machine now but i will look into this when i get home. unfortunatly i am very new to linix in general, and have no experiance at all compiling and installing drivers. i will give all this a go later and see what happens. however with the posts by users talking about how the driver does not work for them i am not going to expect much i guess. probably should have researched the wireless card before i bought it. live and learn i guess.

chili555
June 27th, 2008, 02:15 PM
We will be glad to help you. If you don't understand an instruction, just ask us.

e_swallie
June 27th, 2008, 08:46 PM
Ok i followd the instructions found there and it all seemed to be going ok up through the make process. however then it tells me to run the ndiswrapper program and give it a few args. however this does not seem to work. i get an error when i type that in

EDIT-- OK i take that back. when i type make i get several errors and i have no clue what it all means. there is some sort of a patch file he mentions in his document. and i try to apply that but i have no clue if this works or not. then i run make again, and still get errors. however the errors seem to be different on the second pass.

Ok update:

i have the ndiswrapper working it seems. i have a driver in there and it shows attached hardware. but now i am stuck again. what do i need to do to now enable this device and use it?

chili555
June 28th, 2008, 02:12 PM