PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Booted to BusyBox

zujenbe
June 26th, 2008, 05:35 PM
ok, so ive looked at all the stuff on other threads but im still having problems, most probably cause i dont understand the jargon everyone uses...shows my linux capabilities but im new to it and ready to learn.

ok, so u sing wubi, i installed ubuntu 8,04 and when i boot, i get sent straight to the busybox hell where i get stuck. How do i get started with this?

avtolle
June 26th, 2008, 05:45 PM
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#head-9fe000fa2e31a632fdcf384438b2aee35076c623 may provide some help to you.

zujenbe
June 26th, 2008, 06:15 PM
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#head-9fe000fa2e31a632fdcf384438b2aee35076c623 may provide some help to you.

ive already checked that and to no avail :(
thanks tho

Midwest-Linux
June 26th, 2008, 06:58 PM
Let me share a experience. I have a Vista laptop Compaq 762NR. I tried the live CD and just ran it everything worked fine...except wireless. I tried to install using Wubi, Vista did not seem to like Wubi at all..I had the busy box problem too. I scratched the installation.

I read some windows forums, I found out Vista has a excellent shrink partitioner program. You shrink your Vista partition by some 20 GB or so. This is now called freed space. You can install Ubuntu directly on this freed space and the install should go rather well. it also install grub so that you can boot in the other OS as well.

You might have to configure wireless (if this is a laptop) but that can be taken care of with a couple of command lines.

zujenbe
June 26th, 2008, 07:25 PM
Let me share a experience. I have a Vista laptop Compaq 762NR. I tried the live CD and just ran it everything worked fine...except wireless. I tried to install using Wubi, Vista did not seem to like Wubi at all..I had the busy box problem too. I scratched the installation.