PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] XXXX needs dependency, needs dependency, needs dependency

M3TAL1QU1D
June 26th, 2008, 04:25 AM
I seemed to have ran into a freakin circle. i am trying to install kppp on ubuntu 8.04 for my sierra 595u wireless card (which is my only means of getting on the internet in ubuntu) and i needed to satisfy a list of dependencies. The problem is i ran into 3 packages that need eachother to install. Example:

In order to get kppp going, i need:

kdelibs4c2a,
which needs kdelibs-bin,
which needs kdelibs4,
which needs kdelibs4c2a
which needs kdelibs-bin,
which needs kdelibs4,
ect....

What the hell!!??? its like a freakin triangle!! is there anyway to get around this, or is there something similar to kppp i can use for my card??? Any takers????

utsuprainfra
June 26th, 2008, 04:30 AM
try downloading and installing the package files manually with a force switch?

M3TAL1QU1D
June 26th, 2008, 04:34 AM
oh, i shoulda mentioned im a newbie to linux too.... i got the 3 packages sittin on my desktop (in a triangle shape actually). as for force switchig them, i am not too sure how to do this.:)

markkie
June 26th, 2008, 06:01 AM
I seemed to have ran into a freakin circle. i am trying to install kppp on ubuntu 8.04 for my sierra 595u wireless card (which is my only means of getting on the internet in ubuntu) and i needed to satisfy a list of dependencies. The problem is i ran into 3 packages that need eachother to install. Example:

In order to get kppp going, i need:

kdelibs4c2a,
which needs kdelibs-bin,
which needs kdelibs4,
which needs kdelibs4c2a
which needs kdelibs-bin,
which needs kdelibs4,
ect....

What the hell!!??? its like a freakin triangle!! is there anyway to get around this, or is there something similar to kppp i can use for my card??? Any takers????
To get kppp installed open a console and type:- sudo apt-get install kppp - That should take care of all dependencies.

markkie
June 26th, 2008, 07:04 AM