PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network seems to have broken with linux...



MJBoa
June 25th, 2008, 07:22 PM
My network seems to not function well with Linux for some reason. The weird thing is that it was working pretty well for a while. I had ubuntu installed and the internet was working perfectly but one day it started acting up. I'll use network manager to connect to my network and I'll be connected for like 10-20 seconds then all of a sudden it won't connect to anything. Then it will come back and then it will disconnect. I don't know what the problem could be seeing as I reinstalled linux multiple times, the same thing happens with the Live CD and I've tried anything I could think of. I don't see how something I did on one installation could affect the Live CD. But it WAS working perfectly before.
Everything is fine on Windows. My only explanation is that either the network adapter, DWL G122 or the router, WRT54G don't like Ubuntu all of a sudden. Any suggestions on either a new adapter I could buy that I can use easily and functions fully under Linux or something I could fix?

earthmeLon
June 25th, 2008, 08:00 PM
What do you get if you do:

ifconfig

MJBoa
June 25th, 2008, 08:29 PM
ifconfig

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:46:e5:5e:18
inet addr:192.168.1.30 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-13-46-E5-5E-18-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


iwconfig

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"linksys"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:0F:66:2B:6D:71
Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=27 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2346 B
Link Quality=31/100 Signal level=-53 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

lsusb

Bus 002 Device 003: ID 2001:3c00 D-Link Corp. [hex] DWL-G122 802.11g rev. B1 [ralink]
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05fe:1011 Chic Technology Corp.
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 046d:c01e Logitech, Inc. MX518 Optical Mouse
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

/etc/network/interfaces

iface wlan0 inet static
address 192.168.1.30
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
wpa-psk random
wpa-driver wext
wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
wpa-proto WPA
wpa-ssid linksys
auto wlan0

superprash2003
June 26th, 2008, 02:25 AM
type ping google.com in your terminal and post output

mempman
June 26th, 2008, 03:24 AM
ifconfig

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:46:e5:5e:18
inet addr:192.168.1.30 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


This is a rather strange problem; some routers don't work well with linux w/ MTU size set at 1500. Try to change that value in your router to something like 1370 and see if the same problem arises.

MJBoa
June 26th, 2008, 06:44 AM
Not on Linux now but it says Destination Host Unreachable.

MJBoa
June 26th, 2008, 03:25 PM
By the way, I'm open to buying a new wireless card, one that works completely.

earthmeLon
June 26th, 2008, 04:36 PM
Get something with Atheros chipset :D