PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Bash scripting (find)

Xaero252
June 25th, 2008, 12:50 AM
allright basically I am trying to cheat writing a lot of code for recursion to do a trivial task...
I have a LARGE collection of Manga, most of it in CBR, or CBZ format (which through Comix, I have thumbs of the cover), but the rest is in Rar, or Zip format, so what I want to do is Symbolicly link the files into a collection folder...
so far this is my find string:
find ./ -iname \*.rar -exec ln -sfv {} /Manga\ Collection/*.cbr \;
(of course its just changing the extensions to match zip, cbr,cbz for the rest.
however that find string doesn't work as expected, it tries to link the correct file to "*.cbr", instead of what I wanted it to, but how can I fix that???

dwhitney67
June 25th, 2008, 03:47 AM
I'm not a bash expert, so even though the script below is lengthier than your 'find' command, at least it works -- ACTUALLY, IT DOESN'T WORK -- SORRY!.

#!/bin/sh

for file in `find . -name '*.rar'`
do
FILENAME=`basename $file | cut -d '.' -f1`
ln -sv $PWD/$FILENAME.rar /Manga\ Collection/$FILENAME.cbr
done

dwhitney67
June 25th, 2008, 03:55 AM
Try this script

#!/bin/sh

do
ln -sv $PWD/$file Manga\ Collection/$FILENAME.cbr
done
Note how I had to specify $file instead of $FILENAME.rar as I had done previously in my original script.

ghostdog74
June 25th, 2008, 04:00 AM
I'm not a bash expert, so even though the script below is lengthier than your 'find' command, at least it works -- ACTUALLY, IT DOESN'T WORK -- SORRY!.

#!/bin/sh

do
done

use a while loop

find . -name '*.rar' -printf "%f:%p\n" | while IFS=":" read FNAME FPATH
do
ln -sv "$FPATH" /Manga\ Collection/${FNAME}.cbr
done

lloyd_b
June 25th, 2008, 04:09 AM

#!/bin/sh

do
done