PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu/Linux Laptop from System76 for College

SilverDragon
June 24th, 2008, 09:14 PM
In the fall I'll be attending Umass Amherst and have been looking for a laptop. One thing I've noticed is that at some colleges linux is banned as in not allowed on the network, or not supported at all(which isn't as bad) Fortunately, Umass Amherst seems to have at least a little support for it. I believe this because of these links.

https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-us-ma/2007-May/000090.html

http://www.googlesyndicatedsearch.com/u/oitumassamherst?q=OIT%20linux&sa=Google+Search&domains=umass.edu&sitesearch=umass.edu

http://www.oit.umass.edu/software/download/linux.html

Since I've been using Ubuntu exclusively for about 6 months and was on and off for a year before that, I think I'd rather use Ubuntu in college :)

I like Dell and all for computers, but I was thinking I should buy a laptop from System76 because they get good reviews and two laptops with similar hardware costs about $250 or so less when I buy from System76 when compared to Dell.

I was wondering if there is any reason I would want to use a Windows laptop. I've heard I can connect through a VPN(not really sure how this works yet) on Ubuntu and that should be fine for most network related issues.

I was also curious about anything else I should be worried about.

madjr
June 24th, 2008, 11:26 PM
yea system 76 is very good.

and their prices have also lowered a bit

this one is awesome price
http://system76.com/product_info.php?cPath=28&products_id=85

much better deal than the dell i got with a 8400GS, i would had prefer that one with the 8600GT and built in webcam

oh, and am liking umass :)

damis648
June 24th, 2008, 11:31 PM
The ONLY thing i do not like about System76 is the fact that their laptops are so thick!

madjr
June 25th, 2008, 12:01 AM
The ONLY thing i do not like about System76 is the fact that their laptops are so thick!