PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Want to start all over

knuttypk
June 24th, 2008, 08:53 PM
So i installed ubuntu hardy heron and i like it but i want to completely start over and boot xp first. But now when i put in the xp cd it is saying i dont have any hard drives. what is the best way i can boot both xp and ubuntu

knuttypk
June 28th, 2008, 03:40 AM
Bump. Can i get any help at all. I am a complete noob so i dont know anything. If yall can even tell me a better way of informing you of what my problem might be that would be awesome. would love to solve this problem

VMC
June 28th, 2008, 04:22 AM
So i installed ubuntu hardy heron and i like it but i want to completely start over and boot xp first. But now when i put in the xp cd it is saying i dont have any hard drives. what is the best way i can boot both xp and ubuntu

What do you mean, you want to start over? Start over installing ubuntu? Or start over installing XP?

Okay, I see you want to delete all partitions and start with a clean slate. Is that correct? The XP won't recognized Linux partitions.

Just put in the ubuntu livecd and run "gparted". Then you can delete all the partitions that you want, using the gui interface.

Then put the XP disk back in and it should now see unformatted hard drive. But you will have to run the recover cd, and the fixbmr command. To get XP to acknowledge the hard drive.

knuttypk
June 28th, 2008, 04:04 PM
Ok so what is the difference between the live xp cd and the recover cd. i only have a burned iso image from a downloaded xp. and sorry i dont know what the fixbmr is? but thanx ill give it a try and delete everything at the partitioner

AlexBellisBrown
June 28th, 2008, 04:09 PM
Try this and let us know how it goes ;)

http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_linux_and_windows_xp_linux_instal led_first.htm

knuttypk
June 28th, 2008, 04:57 PM