PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation problem: please help

pbanker
June 24th, 2008, 05:14 PM
I am relatively new to linux.I am trying to install on ubuntu Version 8.04 (April 2008) on acer amd 64. This laptop doesn't have an OS. When trying to install after spalsh screen where rectangle moves, i get message loading kernel.

Then i get this message:

[157.817529] b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode5.fw" not found or load failed.
[159.573837] go to http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#devicefirmware and download the correct firmware (version4)

and the screen goes to standard orange screen. Can you please tell me how to resolve this that i can get past this issue to continue installation? I don't know how to load firmware.

Do you think i should install 7.10 that i don't face this issue?? if so where can i get the 7.10 image?

Thanks in advance ..appreciate the help.

pytheas22
June 24th, 2008, 05:45 PM
What does the "standard orange screen" look like? I'm not sure what you mean there.

I don't actually think that your problem is related to the b43 messages. Those are normal; you're not supposed to have the firmware installed until later. I think you're seeing the messages only because you're being dumped to a terminal where error messages are being shown, and they're one of the error messages, but they're not related to your real problem. The real problem is probably an issue with X.

So please describe the orange screen in greater detail, and also please tell us which graphics card and motherboard you're using.

Also, you can download the image for 7.10 from releases.ubuntu.com/7.10/ if you want to see if that works better. It would be a lot better for you to use 8.04, since it's a long-term-support release and is newer. But if 7.10 works (which it might) then at least it helps to narrow down the possible causes of the problem.

pookieman
August 11th, 2008, 11:06 PM
Hi