PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] [SOLVED] Wireless Network problems



BallTongue50187
June 23rd, 2008, 05:01 PM
I am having issues with wireless networking. I have the Linksys wpc54g v5 pci card and the correct driver is installed. On perviouse Xubutu versions i never had problem but with 8.04 i can not connect to any router. This is the output of the log

Jun 23 11:31:45 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1821.091127] pccard: CardBus card inserted into slot 0
Jun 23 11:31:46 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1821.271877] ndiswrapper: driver lsmvnds (Linksys,10/13/2004,3.1.0.36) loaded
Jun 23 11:31:46 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1821.273473] PCI: Enabling device 0000:02:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
Jun 23 11:31:46 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1821.281828] ndiswrapper: using IRQ 10
Jun 23 11:31:46 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1821.556973] wlan0: ethernet device 00:13:10:ae:02:be using NDIS driver: lsmvnds, version: 0x3000031, NDIS version: 0x501, vendor: 'NDIS Network Adapter', 11AB:1FAA.5.conf
Jun 23 11:31:46 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1821.557030] wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP; TKIP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK; AES/CCMP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK
Jun 23 11:31:48 ronald-laptop kernel: [ 1823.415291] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
Jun 23 11:36:25 ronald-laptop dhcdbd: message_handler: message handler not found under /com/redhat/dhcp/eth0 for sub-path eth0.dbus.get.nis_domain
Jun 23 11:36:25 ronald-laptop dhcdbd: message_handler: message handler not found under /com/redhat/dhcp/eth0 for sub-path eth0.dbus.get.nis_servers
Jun 23 11:36:25 ronald-laptop dhcdbd: message_handler: message handler not found under /com/redhat/dhcp/eth0 for sub-path eth0.dbus.get.interface_mtu

Can someone please help

BallTongue50187
June 23rd, 2008, 06:52 PM
bump

BallTongue50187
June 30th, 2008, 07:36 PM
here is iwconfig output

ronald@ronald-laptop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Sensitivity=-200 dBm
RTS thr=2346 B Fragment thr=2346 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

here is ifconfig output

ronald@ronald-laptop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:86:4a:30:57
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:190 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:157 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:170890 (166.8 KB) TX bytes:21993 (21.4 KB)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0xc400

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:600 (600.0 B) TX bytes:600 (600.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:10:ae:02:be
inet6 addr: fe80::213:10ff:feae:2be/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:90 (90.0 B)
Interrupt:10 Memory:24010000-24020000

BallTongue50187
June 30th, 2008, 09:09 PM
It seems like its connecting to the router but its not getting an ip address. I looked thru the log file and the rate is 1mb i tried changing it but it will not change. It still shows 1mb. PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME.

Lisanels
June 30th, 2008, 09:45 PM
What applet are you using to connect? Does it show your wireless network as available? If so, start with no security on the wireless.

I'm surprised you have to use ndiswrapper? I've run several cards with the default drivers that are installed, and my BCM43XX is the only one I had to use drivers for, and they were not through ndiswrapper.

Lisa

BallTongue50187
July 21st, 2008, 08:22 PM
Thanks lisa for your response. I was using the gnome applet. I manually setup the connection with network admin to my router and low and behold it worked. I have since tried gnome applet with roaming mode again to see if it would work and no go. Seems strange i can't use it but i don't mind i am just glad it works.