PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to fix my os

sclsch
June 22nd, 2008, 07:42 AM
I am a freshman. I have installed ubuntu system using wubi. but I forget my password, now I can not login my system. I notice that it has recovery mode ,but do not know how to fix my os . Who can help me? thanks.

jimv
June 22nd, 2008, 07:44 AM
See this post:

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-3609.html

sclsch
June 22nd, 2008, 08:13 AM
ok . it works well, I changed my password .
but I login os.
the warning is:
File should be owned by user and have 644 permissions.User's $HOME directory must beowned by user and not writebly by other users.

so I can not login my system.
it seems that some permissions are wrong. How can I do?

housam
June 22nd, 2008, 08:53 AM
Try this way :http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/resetpassword (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/resetpassword). it may help.

jimv
June 22nd, 2008, 09:49 AM
log back into recovery mode

change the owner of your home folder back to you:

sudo chown -R your_username /home/your_username

and set the correct permissions:

sudo chmod -R 644 /home/your_username

sclsch
June 22nd, 2008, 11:38 AM
I shut down my windows then reboot to ubuntu recovery mode . I select the secode line : the shell ...(may be it is)
I type :
sudo chown -R scl /home/scl
but , shows:
no command message .
do I type the charactors wrong ??

the second line command works well.

jimv
June 22nd, 2008, 08:05 PM
HMmmm.

Are you still not able to log in?

If not, what's the output of this command:

ls -l /home/scl

dakal
June 22nd, 2008, 08:31 PM
and set the correct permissions:

sudo chmod -R 644 /home/your_username

Be very, very, very careful with this. Mode 0644 works well for documents and similar files but will make directories -- including your home directory itself -- inaccessible. More likely, this would be better (note the upper case X):

sudo chmod -R u=rwX,go= /home/your_username