PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installed on new partition...won't boot

patrickrclark
June 22nd, 2008, 05:53 AM
Hi. I am new to Ubuntu and Linux as a whole so bear with me. So a little while ago I decided I'd like to switch over from Windows XP to either Ubuntu of Fedora. Today I finally backed up all of my important files onto my friend's large external hard drive and began the install process. I popped my Ubuntu CD into the drive and booted to it. I didn't bother booting live. Not knowing exactly what I was doing or really what I wanted to do, when I got to the partition screen went into manual mode, I deleted my old xp partitions and created a 4gb swap and 316gb ext3 partition mounted to "/". So things installed without error and I excitedly rebooted in hopes to boot my new OS. Just to be safe I went into my boot priority and made sure the hard drive was first (even though my cd was out of the drive). Then to boot and voila...the drive is practically ignored. The system tries to boot from my intel network card (lowest boot priority). So I do a live boot and try to install again. When it gets to the partition manager I select the option for guided while using the entire capacity of the drive. Again no errors during the install and upon trying to boot the same thing happens again. Grasping for straws I live boot yet again and install GRUB (according to http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351) and tried booting again, but to no avail. I feel like there is something simple I am missing but I am at a loss for what to do. I'm not sure if this is a hardware related problem or a problem related to my installation. Anyone see a similar problem or know why my computer would do this to me? For the record, my hard drive IS recognized by my BIOS.

damphoud
June 22nd, 2008, 06:04 AM
Can you give specs on the system.

Qrikko
June 22nd, 2008, 06:08 AM
Does it load in grub (i.e. after your bios pop some splash you get a message that grub is loading)?