PDA

View Full Version : What if everybody used Linux?

mhancoc7
October 29th, 2005, 07:06 AM
I have been using Linux for about 2 years now. I have really learned a lot and really love Ubuntu. I have completely shed myself of the scurge of Micro$oft. I only use win4lin to occasionally run some ******* apps that I have not found a suitible alternative for. There a very few. I also use it for checking my website in IE6.

Ok I'm getting off track.

When I first started using Linux I was excited and a little overwhelmed. I remember feeling as if I was not in the "club". I tried to post questions and sometimes I would get answers that made me feel dumber. Some of them were even a bit rude. Now I tell you that so I can say this.

If one day everyone is using Linux will we still feel special. I mean I sometimes feel like I know something that everybody else doesn't know. Of course I always like to tell other people about Linux and specifically about Ubuntu, but sometimes it is nice to feel like I am a member of an elite group of individuals who are privileged enough to use Linux. I hate to even admit this because I don't want to be a part of an exclusive elitist club that is not open to newbies. I just wonder how it would be for Linux to be what everybody uses.

I also wonder if Linux is to become more widespread will it need to be dumbed down or will the average Joe need to get smarter. I would hate to see the first and I doubt the possibility of the latter.

Sorry for the odd little rant, but it has all been on my mind and I wondered what you all thought.

God Bless, Jereme

fuscia
October 29th, 2005, 07:11 AM
there would be no more wars, no more famine, no more unkind thoughts.

23meg
October 29th, 2005, 07:20 AM