PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fresh install Hardy, update problems

PgTips
June 20th, 2008, 05:09 PM
Just completed a fresh instal of Hardy - no problems. Connected to internet and opened update manager. Informed of loads of updates so went ahead and clicked install. Now have a number of broken packages so went to Synaptics Package Manager to fix. Seem to have a number of OpenOffice packages that are listed as broken.Asked SPM to fix but getting "An error occured", " The following details are provided:"

E: /var/cache/apt/archives/libcame|1.2-11_2.22.2-Oubuntu2_i386.deb:corrupted filesystem tarfile-corrupted package archive

I am a relative newbie so any help would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

Pumalite
June 20th, 2008, 05:13 PM
Try this:
sudo apt-get clean
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get -f install
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

avtolle
June 20th, 2008, 05:21 PM
Try this:
sudo apt-clean
sudo dpkg --configure -a
sudo apt-get -f install
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Do the above commands one at a time, in the order Pumalite gave them. Post back any error messages.

PgTips
June 20th, 2008, 05:32 PM
sudo apt-clean = command not found

PgTips
June 20th, 2008, 05:36 PM
sudo dpkg etc returns a long list mainly citing dependency problems with open office stuff

PgTips
June 20th, 2008, 05:40 PM
final command returns another long list ending up with " E: Unmet dependancies, Try using -f."

avtolle
June 20th, 2008, 05:42 PM
Missed this the first time around, s/b
sudo apt-get clean
Give that a try again.

PgTips
June 20th, 2008, 05:46 PM
Sorry must be a bit slow here. Exactly what to type please? Confused by [/code

PgTips
June 20th, 2008, 05:49 PM
just gets me the prompt ( machine with problem is a desktop - doing this on my old laptop which is running hardy brilliantly)

avtolle
June 20th, 2008, 05:53 PM