PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help me to run XP proprietary software please. 2.6.24-19-386

Rorke
June 20th, 2008, 10:02 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu - but I'm not an idiot, I've programmed in machine language on the ZX81, reconfigured Dos memory maps and managed small labs of linux machines.

BUT I've read in several forums phrases like 'Why would anyone need XP, its totally useless and Linux does everything you need.'

Since installing Ubuntu 8.04, I've had daily problems trying to get it to do what XP does out of the box. I have tried 3 different ways to run Conferencing software from AT&T called Interwise (http://www.interwise.com/ if anyone wants to try for themselves) including wine (couldn't configure it) Crossover (just didn't do the job) and VirtualBox (Seems to keep being crashed by Kernel updates).
I'm now looking at back installing XP as a dual boot - something that I've read is dangerous and tricky, OR just scrubbing the linux altogether. BTW, this feels like going back to confession (church) after I've just told everyone I'm an atheist!

The only thing I need my PC for is Interwise with a working mic, speaker and preferably some decent screen resolution. (OK, some surfing, bit of music, some WP and a spreadsheet, occasional Youtube - but I got all these working in about a week)

Oh, and all of you who will reply RTFM - I just ordered one from Amazon and its due today.

If anyone can help, you'll probably save my sanity.

Thanks in advance.
Simon

bgoody
June 20th, 2008, 10:38 AM
Hi. I use Vmware Workstation for those times when no Linux equivalent is available or the amount of time it takes to configure something is just to wasteful. It costs money but so does time.

Vmware has a free trial so you can figure out if it will handle your program. There is also a free (I think) Vmware Server version in the repos but I have the impression it is behind a bit and there is no support included in the non-box. Brian

hyper_ch
June 20th, 2008, 10:38 AM