PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] APC Install / Disk Check - Wired Internet not Working



drivehappy
June 20th, 2008, 12:57 AM
I installed the latest updates on 6/18/08, turned it off for the night. Turn it on today, skip the disk check and do a quick svn checkin this morning (so network was working). Bought an APC ES 350 today and plugged the USB data cable into my computer as well. Booted it up and left it to disk check. After that the network would not get the IP information from my router (all other machines retrieve the IP info correctly still, wired/wireless).


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1a:92:83:5f:95
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:216

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1a:92:83:68:2c
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:138 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:179 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:16459 (16.0 KB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:217 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:622 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:622 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:39611 (38.6 KB) TX bytes:39611 (38.6 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:4d:c6:50:01
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:14020 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:13335 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7091696 (6.7 MB) TX bytes:1800918 (1.7 MB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-18-4D-C6-50-01-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


lspci:


00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:09.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
06:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 03)
06:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 03)
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8600 GT (rev a1)


I was finally able to connect via a USB wireless adapter (as seen above). I tried both eth0 and eth1 jacks, in addition to turning off roaming mode and trying dhcp as well as Static IP with the correct info and it still doesn't work.

The nm-applet reports the driver used is "forcedeth". Thanks.

chili555
June 20th, 2008, 01:15 AM
Perhaps post #13 here will be useful: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=830723&page=2&highlight=forcedeth

drivehappy
June 20th, 2008, 01:44 AM
It seems this is nearly the exact same problem:

As post #13 summarizes:


00:08.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:09.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)


However, a small difference (v 0.60 vs 0.61):


[ 23.260691] forcedeth: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.61.


I tried the temporary solution as well as the proposed permanent one and the wired connection still doesn't work.

Edit: Looking deeper I came across this (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/intrepid/+source/linux/+bug/136836) as well.

My output from sudo lspci -v:



00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=07, subordinate=07, sec-latency=0
I/O behind bridge: 00007000-00007fff
Memory behind bridge: f8000000-fbffffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 00000000e0000000-00000000efffffff
Capabilities: [40] Subsystem: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0000
Capabilities: [48] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [50] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/1 Enable+
Capabilities: [60] HyperTransport: MSI Mapping
Capabilities: [80] Express Root Port (Slot+) IRQ 0


More specifically I think it still shows MSI still enabled, even after the proposed solutions.

chili555
June 20th, 2008, 02:15 AM
Edit: Looking deeper I came across this as well.That's where the fix came from; please see jad's post, about 40% down the page. What happens when you do:
sudo dhclient eth1Thanks.

drivehappy
June 20th, 2008, 02:19 AM
$ sudo dhclient eth1
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 134519072
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
Listening on LPF/eth1/00:1a:92:83:68:2c
Sending on LPF/eth1/00:1a:92:83:68:2c
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 18
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1


I killed it at the end.