PDA

View Full Version : Make bash script process filenames with spaces in it ?

kabus
October 28th, 2005, 09:40 PM
Hi everybody,
I'm very new at bash scripting and just got my first script, a file mass renamer, to work.
Now I'd like to expand it by making it accept input filenames that contain spaces.
So far I've figured out a way to turn ' ' into '\ ' with sed :

sed -e "s/ /\\\ /g"

But no matter what I do I can't seem to get mv to accept this as input (ie as the source file).
This is what I'm trying to do :

for i in *; do
source=$(echo $i|sed -e "s/ /\\\ /g")
mv $source $target
done

With $source, like above mv interprets an input like fi\ le\ 1 as multiple files.
When I do "$source" instead it gets interpreted as fi\\ le\\ 1.

Any ideas ?
Is there a better way to do this ?

LordHunter317
October 28th, 2005, 09:45 PM
Variables containing spaces needs to be quoted, so the shell passes the whole variable as one argument:
mv "$source" "$target"I'm not sure what you're using sed for, but it's not needed.

poptones
October 28th, 2005, 09:47 PM
You cannot use for in a loop like that because "for" separates a list based on whitespace. It seems to be a "bug" in bash for that has turned into a "feature." Ev3en if you put double quotes around it ( "/this is/a/single/file path" ) for still splits the list of files by whitespace.

An easy way to do it is to prepare a list and feed it into while.

while read file;do
mv "$file" "$somewhere"
done<file_list.txt

kabus
October 28th, 2005, 10:18 PM
Thanks, the While method works fine for me. :)

LordHunter317
October 29th, 2005, 12:26 AM
You cannot use for in a loop like that because "for" separates a list based on whitespace.No, not in this case. 'for i in *' does indeed expand correctly in GNU bash. Wildcard expansions are completely assigned into the variable.

OTOH, doing this:
FOO="bin bash bar"
for i in $FOO ; do echo $i ; done will yield 3 loops. Making it "$FOO" will yield one loop.