PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrade to 2.6.24-19 disables wireless card

haiiyaa
June 18th, 2008, 06:16 AM
Hi,

I have ubuntu Hardy. On a Dell Laptop XPS M1530. This morning the automatic updates upgraded my kernel to 2.6.24-19. After the upgrade my wireless network stopped working. It is not connecting to my home network and when i click on the network icon in the task bar, i don't see the list of available networks under wireless networks.

I am still learning the ropes in linux slowly, so I would appreciate some guidance.

thank you

nilpill
June 19th, 2008, 05:26 PM
I can confirm this problem.

Checking the hardware drivers window, my wireless driver (Support for Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN cards.) appears to be enabled, but not in use (and the driver, "Atheros Hardware Access Layer (HAL)" seems to be missing altogether). Also, when I checked iwconfig, no wireless devices appeared whatsoever.

CMEPTb
June 20th, 2008, 07:48 AM
I confirm a problem with the said kernel and said device. When I go to "Administration->Hardware Drivers" it says that

Support for Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN cards - Enabled /*check*/ - /*but then red button and "not in use"*/

Any check change requires a reboot which completes the vicious circle.

A previous kernel loads BOTH that "Support for Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN cards" and "Atheros Hardware Access Layer (HAL)" /* Not even visible with the 2.6.24-19 */, but, alas, I cannot connect to any network, even the one I'm connected to right now in order to write all this stuff. Thank god I got 6 computers in my place :).