PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nero 7

Alyce
June 14th, 2008, 12:08 AM
I need some help installing Nero 7. I'm pretty new to Linux, so if someone could talk to me like I'm 5, that'd be super sweet.

jrusso2
June 14th, 2008, 12:19 AM
Thats a Windows program and its not likely to work on Linux.

I would get the nerolinux if I had to have Nero.

Alyce
June 14th, 2008, 12:34 AM
I heard a rumour that I could type a command line somewhere.... But I don't know where I would get the command line, or where I would type it, so....

jrusso2
June 14th, 2008, 12:38 AM
You can try installing it with wine

First you have to install Wine

sudo apt-get install wine

then you would run wine name.exe with that being the name of nero and see if the install runs. but I doubt it will work with such a complex program that has a burner and other things that require drivers.

linkunderscore
June 14th, 2008, 12:44 AM
DON'T TRY IT WITH WINE FIRST. (no offense jrusso)

You seem REALLY new to linux and wine can be confusing or frustrating (especially if it doesn't work correct the first time) for a new linux user.

I'd suggest using one of the linux based Nero-like substitutes. For example you could use gnomebaker by typing (you can copy and paste):

sudo apt-get install gnomebaker

(BTW you get to the command prompt by going to applications->accessories (ithink)-> Terminal)

It will prompt you for your password. So type that and then it should download and install it for you.

You could also try another program called k3b

sudo apt-get install k3b

Once they are done doing their thing you should be able to find them in the Applications Menu.

Pumalite
June 14th, 2008, 12:47 AM
k3b beats them all.

wpshooter
June 14th, 2008, 12:49 AM
I heard a rumour that I could type a command line somewhere.... But I don't know where I would get the command line, or where I would type it, so....

Alyce: