PDA

View Full Version : Language learning path......?

Immolatus
June 13th, 2008, 10:36 PM
I am a student currently pursuing a degree in software engineering. It seems at the beginning of which that I am stuck with lots of calculus, chemistry and physics in my curriculum so I plan to learn and build on my library of programing languages during this and the next two summers,aside from the courses I will be taking on them in school.

Here's my question: I've started with Java because it seems like a lot of fun and is so far, next I'll be moving to Python. Should I back up a bit and learn C and C++ first? I feel like I should begin at the beginning if you know what I mean. Also should I learn to program in Perl and Ruby in earnest or should I treat them as peripheral interests? I do intend to learn about them as well at some point.

Any thoughts?

bruce89
June 13th, 2008, 10:47 PM
You won't get much of an objective opinion here I'm afraid.

Java's really a C++ done well, so it's somewhat like C syntaxally.

Perl, Ruby and Python are all something else.

I can't see any advantages of any language over another really, just use what you are best with. For instance, I like Vala.

LaRoza
June 13th, 2008, 10:55 PM
First, realise all languages are tools. There is no progression or scale in terms of what language to use. Perl is just as much a language as C. It seems many people think of C and C++ as "real" language when that is not the case. They all are real.

Perhaps my site and wiki would interest you...

bruce89
June 14th, 2008, 01:18 AM
First, realise all languages are tools. There is no progression or scale in terms of what language to use. Perl is just as much a language as C. It seems many people think of C and C++ as "real" language when that is not the case. They all are real.

Thanks for the truth. Good to see objectivity here.

pmasiar
June 14th, 2008, 03:06 AM