PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help - can't install Ubuntu

ranchero
June 13th, 2008, 06:13 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu. Trying to install it on my new system - it shows the installation bar and then hangs at approximately 75-80% :(

AMD 6000+, Crosshair, 2GB RAM, 80GB SATA HDD, ATI All-in-Wonder. No Raid or any other special stuff.

Ubuntu downloaded CD, 7.10, CD check shows no errors.

Update:
Once I've just got error message along with other stuff on the screen:

"error receiving uevent message: no buffer space avalable."

Avenger1432
June 13th, 2008, 06:18 AM
try to start live cd in recovery mode..i dont remember in 7.10 but should be a verbose option or recovery or diagnostic mode. should give you some messages as to the reason it may be freezing.

ranchero
June 13th, 2008, 06:21 AM
It only shows option "start in safe graphics mode" I'll try it right now.
...exact same thig :( - bar stops under letter N in "UBUNTU".

Worst of all, I've installed XP day before without any problems in 10 mins :(
(Now there's another HDD, it's empty)

Avenger1432
June 13th, 2008, 06:23 AM
no there should be another option like when you are about press start or install ubuntu.. should be something on the bottom of the screen with boot options..

Avenger1432
June 13th, 2008, 06:27 AM
when you do find that... if you have a digital camera try uploading a picture of that to this thread.

or maybe someone else has a better idea, idk. its not like you can go fetch a log you havent even installed the system.. there is no way to get the logs. so try to write down what you see on the screen when the diagnostics show... and write them down here... or use a dig. camera

ranchero
June 13th, 2008, 06:31 AM
The other thing I have F6, when I press it some kind of command line appears:

"Boot options t=casper initrd=casper/initrd.gz quiet splash--|"

Avenger1432
June 13th, 2008, 06:31 AM