PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] gnome no title bar

metalmaniac248
June 12th, 2008, 09:44 PM
hi there

before i start i am very new to Ubuntu,

my problem is that when i active the gl desktop and desktop effects and all that fancy looking stuff, my title bar disappears (im not sure if title is the right name i am talking about the thing with the close maximize minimize)

also, as far as i can tell the problem arose when i tried to set up dual screen, i was following this tutorial on how to do it

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/dual-monitors-with-nvidia.html

i think i must have put something in the wrong place or something, and after i rebooted, the x window thing wouldn't run. So i was stuck with the white letters black background code screen (like what you see when you first turn your machine on) i managed to fix this by doing the restore thing on the tutorial

but since then gnome has been removing my title bar

any help would be greatly appreciated, i am very determined to stick with Linux

thanks in advance

wootah
June 12th, 2008, 09:56 PM
hi there

before i start i am very new to Ubuntu,

my problem is that when i active the gl desktop and desktop effects and all that fancy looking stuff, my title bar disappears (im not sure if title is the right name i am talking about the thing with the close maximize minimize)

also, as far as i can tell the problem arose when i tried to set up dual screen, i was following this tutorial on how to do it

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/dual-monitors-with-nvidia.html

i think i must have put something in the wrong place or something, and after i rebooted, the x window thing wouldn't run. So i was stuck with the white letters black background code screen (like what you see when you first turn your machine on) i managed to fix this by doing the restore thing on the tutorial

but since then gnome has been removing my title bar

any help would be greatly appreciated, i am very determined to stick with Linux

thanks in advance