PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] php doesnt run



witash
June 12th, 2008, 04:15 PM
I tried to reinstall apache2 and php5. apache2 works, but now, when i try to run php bash tells me command not found! I tired installing just php5 by itself, but this does nothing. Any help?

Cypher
June 12th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Install the PHP5 Module for Apache with


sudo apt-get install libapache2-mod-php5

This will now install the correct module for Apache, then create your test PHP file with the following


cd /var/www
sudo cat "<? phpinfo.php ?>" > test.php

Now point your browser to http://localhost and you should get "It Works", then point it to http://localhost/test.php and you should get info about the PHP version installed plus additional info.

PHP is a web-based scripting language, you do not execute it from the BASH command line like Python/Perl or something..

witash
June 12th, 2008, 04:30 PM
I have already done all that. when i go to the test page, the browes asks if i want to download the file (like i would expect if php is npt working). And i may be mistaken, but i thought that although running php form the command line is not the USUAL way it is used, it is still possible.

hyper_ch
June 12th, 2008, 04:35 PM
sudo a2enmod php5

Titan8990
June 12th, 2008, 04:36 PM
Check this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=796407.

I had a similar issue and the problem turned out to be my /etc/hosts file.

If you input your local ip address instead of localhost can you view that php page?

witash
June 12th, 2008, 04:39 PM
okay, so a2enmod php5 was apparently what i needed, since the test page now works. HOWEVER bash still tells me the command php is not found. This is a problem, since i need to run a php script. i did this the ther day, and im pretty sure that the command i used was php [name-of-script].php and this worked

forger
June 12th, 2008, 04:41 PM
you could try installing php5-cli

$ php -a
Interactive shell

php > echo "Hello!\n";
Hello!
php > exit

hyper_ch
June 12th, 2008, 04:43 PM
yeah, to run php scripts from the cli you need the php5-cli packages and then you can just:



php file.php

witash
June 12th, 2008, 04:49 PM
ok, the problem was i did not install the php5-cli package. Thank you for your help!