PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trial By Fire

jarvis1023
June 12th, 2008, 03:39 AM
TRIAL BY FIRE

I am an experienced computer user. I work as a network administrator for a windows network. I decided I wanted to learn about Linux. This is the story of my experiences with my first Ubuntu installation.

I have a 40 gig hard drive on a laptop. I downloaded the live CD from the Ubuntu website. This CD essentially did nothing when I booted from it. I would get to the menu but any of the installation options did nothing.

Then I went back into Windows XP on the harddrive and found the program called WUBI. I read about how it was used and installed a 15 gig section for Ubuntu using WUBI. Everything worked fine except now I was left with a 15 gig installation of Ubuntu.

Next I wanted to make the laptop Ubuntu only. I leared of LVPM and partition manager. partition manager was supposed to be able to break up my partition. It was not able to do so. I then went back into windows, erased many of the files after offloading htem to and external USB. I ran Partition Manager but made a fatal mistake in creating the ex3 and linux-sap partitons as logical partitions.

I reloaded the computer into Ubuntu and decided to removed the windows partition. I was going to then resize the linux partiton to fill the remaining space but when I rebooted the computer I realized what I had done and was left with essentially no operating system.

Luckily I have other computers and I was able to obtain 2 other pieces of software GPARTED and SUPERGRUB. I burned both of these to CDs as bootable CDS. I first used GPARTED to copy the LVPM copy of linux that was in the logical partition to the unallocated area at the begining of the HD. This made a copy of my Ubuntu in sda1. I then erased the logical partitions I had created. I then resized the partition to fill all but hte last 2 gigs of the HD where I created a second partition for the linux-swap.