PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot install Ubuntu 8.04 on laptop, installer wont create ext3 file system

akowalski
June 12th, 2008, 03:34 AM
Hey,
I am really new to Ubuntu and Linux, and Im just trying to get it up and running on my Dell Inspiron 8200. I had it working a few days ago, but after i tried to download and install some updates it sort of went to pieces. Each time i try and reinstall Ubuntu, no matter if i let it use the entire disk or if i do it manually, it never installs past 5% in partitions formatting. It stops right when it says "creating ext3 file system" or something close to that.
I have tried clearing all partitions in the live cd and also erasing the hard drive completely with this boot cd I have. I have even gone back and made a new Ubuntu install cd thinking maybe my CD was the problem. The same problem keeps coming up when I install. Could it be that my hard drive is just failing? everything seems to suggest that its working fine but I cant think of anything else...

Pumalite
June 12th, 2008, 03:39 AM
Check your drive with rescuecd:
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
(I think it has a partitioner too)

swguy
June 12th, 2008, 03:41 AM
Did you do an integrity check on the CD? I've had a few go bad after a single install. Now I only use CD-RW data discs so I can rewrite them if there's an issue.

akowalski
June 12th, 2008, 03:45 AM
Yea, I did an integrity check with both cd's I used. they both seem fine, so I think the problem is in my computer. It is kind of old, which is why I think it could be the hard drive starting to fail. Ill try that link up above and see what happens.

Pumalite
June 12th, 2008, 03:45 AM
Try to use only CD-R of good quality.

akowalski
June 12th, 2008, 06:36 AM
Iv been burning my cd's on maxell CD-R pro cd's. Are those good quality?

akowalski
June 12th, 2008, 07:55 PM