PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] HH8.04 boots to text prompt....no Gnome..:(

lestrade
June 12th, 2008, 02:22 AM
I installed v8.04 on my new Toshiba Satellite and, I think it was when I told Synaptic PM to "completely remove" Python and Glade developement stuff that I started having problems. Now it boots to a login prompt and then a command line. Everything "looks" intact in that mode....but no GUI.
StartX gets me to an X cursor and "graphical" background, but nothing else, no icons, nada. So I guess that that is XServer, without the Gnome desktop? (I am a noob, obviously).
I tried getting help from other similar posts, but they mostly assumed that you could run Synaptic PM to remove old kernels, e.g.
I did try booting to the other 2 kernels (and their restore options) to no avail.
Any help would be appreciated. I would rather "hang in there" and fix this than re-do the OS from scratch, as that seems the weinie way out. :)
thanks
JP

iaculallad
June 12th, 2008, 02:42 AM
Had you tried re/installing ubuntu-desktop?

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

lestrade
June 12th, 2008, 02:53 AM
thanks for the reply. When I try that it has a lot of "Failed to Fetch"..yadda yadda. Could not resolve 'us.archive.ubuntu.com'. I guess that it is trying to install it from the internet?
JP

lestrade
June 12th, 2008, 02:57 AM
hmmm.I noticed the -m switch which "tries to continue despite caca happening" and that seemed to finish.
now rebooting...
[edit] Nope. Stil "no resume image, doing normal boot"
JP

DBrocks
June 12th, 2008, 03:16 AM
Yes you have to have it on the internet. :lolflag:

Do you know how to get it online from CLI (Command Line Interface)

lestrade
June 12th, 2008, 03:20 AM
no, but if it is difficult to explain, I can probably find it on the net...
jp

DBrocks
June 12th, 2008, 03:21 AM
Are you using CAT5 cables? Or, in lay-mens terms, are you using comcast? DSL? Fios? or Dialup?

lestrade
June 12th, 2008, 03:25 AM
Cable modem.

DBrocks
June 12th, 2008, 03:31 AM