PDA

View Full Version : Gathering data from the web

ecmerkle
October 27th, 2005, 03:07 AM
Friends,

I am in the midst of moving from windows to ubuntu, and I am still learning the ins and outs of linux. My apologies if this is a simple question or if it's inappropriate for this forum, but I haven't found a simple answer in my searches for this information.

What I want is a program that reads data from web pages and writes it to, say, a text file. For example, one thing I would like to do is obtain sports statistics from web sites in real time, import the statistics to a spreadsheet, and perform manipulations on them. Back when I used excel, there was an option called "web query" that didn't work too well but that was able to extract some data from tables in web sites. Is there a linux equivalent to this? I've read a little bit about using SQL and PHP for data manipulation, and I'm wondering if this is the best (and easiest) way to go.

Thanks,
Ed

BoyOfDestiny
October 27th, 2005, 07:10 AM
Friends,

I am in the midst of moving from windows to ubuntu, and I am still learning the ins and outs of linux. My apologies if this is a simple question or if it's inappropriate for this forum, but I haven't found a simple answer in my searches for this information.

What I want is a program that reads data from web pages and writes it to, say, a text file. For example, one thing I would like to do is obtain sports statistics from web sites in real time, import the statistics to a spreadsheet, and perform manipulations on them. Back when I used excel, there was an option called "web query" that didn't work too well but that was able to extract some data from tables in web sites. Is there a linux equivalent to this? I've read a little bit about using SQL and PHP for data manipulation, and I'm wondering if this is the best (and easiest) way to go.

Thanks,
Ed