PDA

View Full Version : [java] problem with simple method in "hello world"ish program

the_real_fourthdimension
June 12th, 2008, 01:17 AM
Hey All

I'm just starting to learn java, and I'm having some trouble with this code in a "hello world"ish program:

package newPackage;

public abstract class NewClass
{

public static void main(String[] args)
{

int calculateSum(int first, int second)
{
return first + second;
}
calcluateSum(5,3);
}

}

Can anyone tell me where I'm going wrong?
Thanks.

tamoneya
June 12th, 2008, 01:25 AM
can you tell us what the error is. How is it responding? Are you having compiler errors? Are you getting no output?

bruce89
June 12th, 2008, 01:33 AM
You can't define a method inside another method. Here calculateSum is defined inside main.
Why is this class marked as abstract?
calculateSum has to be static as NewClass hasn't been instantiated.
You're not printing the result.

Here's my example:

public class NewClass
{
public static int calculateSum(int first, int second)
{
return first + second;
}

public static void main(String[] args)
{
System.out.println(calculateSum(5, 3));
}
}

Yuki_Nagato
June 12th, 2008, 01:37 AM
Is it possible to run your starting "public static void main" inside of an abstract class?

Yes, previous poster is correct in saying that methods cannot be declared inside of one another. Method "calculate" also needs a public or private label.

the_real_fourthdimension
June 12th, 2008, 01:51 AM
Thanks for the responsese.
...You'd think I've been around these forums long enough to remember to include compiler errors! :p

NewClass.java:10: ';' expected
^
NewClass.java:10: <identifier> expected
^
NewClass.java:10: not a statement
^
NewClass.java:10: ';' expected
^
4 errors
^
4 errors

So java is not like C++ where you can have other functions/methods within the main function/method?
BTW, I fixed the typo.