PDA

View Full Version : Why Linux?

kaldor
June 11th, 2008, 08:28 PM
1) Why did you choose Linux over other OSs?
2) Why did you choose Ubuntu over other distros?
3) Why did you choose the desktop environment that you did?

My answers:

1) Windows is too unstable, costs too much, and gets too slow. Mac is similar to Linux, but expensive. Linux is stable, free, and doesn't get bloated like other systems (Windows mainly)

2) Ubuntu is easiest, and I'm a noob to Linux :)

3) Gnome looks more unique to me than KDE does.

elvinatom
June 11th, 2008, 08:31 PM
1. I resent Microsoft/Apple
2. I kinda grew into the linux world with it - so I know it best
3. Gnome is the most comfortable for me, blackbox I like for it's speed

Ozor Mox
June 11th, 2008, 08:32 PM
1. I began to realise that Windows was a bit crap, and thought of buying a Mac at first, but then remembered the Ubuntu CD a friend had given me. I gave it a try, loved it, and have use it ever since.

2. The live CD was given to me by a friend, and I found it easy to use. Now, I still like it for its simplicity, but also that it lets you customise and dig in deep if you want to. It doesn't restrict you.

3. Again, it came on the live CD, so at first it was all I knew of Linux desktops. I have tried KDE and Xfce and like them, but I still stick with GNOME for my main desktop and laptop, mostly because it is what I'm now familiar with.

bufsabre666
June 11th, 2008, 08:33 PM
1) cause i just kinda got hooked, it moves faster than windows, i can run windows in a virtualbox and it goes faster cause i dont have to run security software, just my games

2) i dont, my main desktop uses opensuse, the one im on now uses ubuntu, my school laptop and my programing desktop both run arch and gentoo in dual boot. i love all three of them, but ubuntu is always nice

3) gnome on everything but opensuse, i use kde3 there, kde to me just looks ugly on everything else but opensuse has it streamlined so it looks and runs very nice

DrMega