PDA

View Full Version : Finance Programmes with Cash Flow

Purplemunchkin
June 11th, 2008, 08:39 AM
Hi all

Apologies if this is in the wrong place or has been answered before, but as you can see from my post count I'm a newbie here and all these various forums are a bit daunting to start with.

I've just started using Ubuntu and am keen to move as much as I can away from Windows but I'm having trouble finding a personal finance programme that offers daily cash flow projections combining income and expenditure.

Maybe I'm just not looking hard enough in the programmes I've tried:
* Eqonomize won't combine income and expenditure
* MyMoneyEx only takes snapshots of one day a month (I don't know about you, but my finances can fluctuate quite a bit in that time.)
* And I just can't seem to find a cash flow projection report at all in GnuCash, KMyMoney, Grisbi, HomeBank or MoneyDance

Any suggestions to help me replace MS Money would be greatly received!

Thanks

Purp

dasunst3r
June 11th, 2008, 08:43 AM
The last time I used GnuCash (about a year ago), I was able to do a cash flow analysis. It is under "Reports" in the program's menu bar. You can do it for an arbitrary timespan, and it breaks stuff down into categories, and will allow you to see specifically what transactions went into the report.

Hei Ku
August 25th, 2008, 12:43 PM
You can try KMyMoney 0.9. There is forecast and budget in the new version.

ffejwilson
August 29th, 2008, 12:08 PM
I just downloaded kmymoney from synaptic package mgr - the version is 0.8.8. Looked briefly, but don't see the forecast. Not sure if I'm using the right term or not - but by forecast, I'm looking for something that will take my current balance and project balances (by day) based on future scheduled transactions. (I'm new and green to ubuntu - working with gnucash at the moment, but can't find that kind of forecast in it either - the cash flow report is historical only, from what I can tell.)