PDA

View Full Version : How can I get a program/feature if I am not a programmer?

50words
June 10th, 2008, 03:53 AM
I have been using Ubuntu for over a year now, and exclusively for a bit over a month.

There are some minor difficulties that I can deal with, but unless someone develops a couple of good applications in particular, my next computer will be a Mac. (Note: if I saw a project going in the right direction, I would stick around.)

So how can a non-developer get a program or feature without hiring a developer of his own?

(I don't want to mention my specific needs, because I don't want to veer off into a discussion of why this or that project will not work for what I need.)

Edit: Fine. What they hey.

I need a good, simple, GUI for editing PDFs. pdftk does everything I need, but from a command line that I will never get a secretary or law clerk to learn. PDFedit is clumsy and clunky, and too hard to use. A nice, simple, easy-to-use GUI for pdftk would be wonderful.

I also need a good, simple video editor. PiTiVi is really great--except that it crashes every time I try to render a project. I have tried it on three different computers, and no go. Avidemux isn't even close to what I need, and the other options in the repos are no better. Cinelerra is overkill. Better webcam support would help, as well. Cheese is great for capture, but it only works 1 out of 5 tries. (Yes, I have a compatible webcam.)

Essentially, I need the basic features of Acrobat Standard as well as something like iMovie.

SunnyRabbiera
June 10th, 2008, 04:00 AM
well it depends on what you are looking for.

ghindo
June 10th, 2008, 04:00 AM
This may not be particularly helpful, but if you are absolutely sure that there are no existing projects with the functionality you are seeking, you could always pick up a programming language and give it a go. It'll definitely take time, but hey - if you want something done right, do it yourself.