PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu doesnt detect hard drive

Forty-two
June 8th, 2008, 10:36 PM
I've just recently built my first computer and decided to install ubuntu on it. I pop in the live cd, boot up the computer, it runs to the desktop, and I double click install. When I get to the partioner however it stalls at 46% then jumps to "prepare partitions" but there isnt anything to prepare, the box is empty. I loaded gparted and it managed to not detect my drive either. I attempted to use the gparted live cd but instead of a graphical interface I got a couple of prompts that I entered through and then a failure leading to a debian terminal thing.

The drive is a SATA 160 GB and does appear in the bios. Does anyone have any idea what I could do?

Thanks

Pumalite
June 8th, 2008, 10:45 PM
Try editing the boot line and adding at the end:
all_generic_ide

Forty-two
June 9th, 2008, 12:17 AM
Sorry, Im very new to this. How do you edit the boot line?

Pumalite
June 9th, 2008, 12:41 AM
http://grumpymole.blogspot.com/2007/05/ubuntu-how-to-edit-grub-boot-parameters.html

Forty-two
June 9th, 2008, 01:32 AM
I never experienced the "grub count down" that it talks about. Is this supposed to happen even on the live cd? Or should I make a permanent change with the second method?

Thanks

Pumalite
June 9th, 2008, 02:30 AM
Do you see Grub? Explain the problem in a more detailed form.

Forty-two
June 9th, 2008, 06:10 AM
Ok, heres the problem: I just built a brand new computer with an equally new hard drive. I boot the computer with the ubuntu live cd, however when I try to install it to the hard drive the installer does not detect said hard drive.

If the grub looks anything like this:

http://ca.geocities.com/zachandloricox@rogers.com/ubuntu/IMG_0345.JPG

then I dont see it during boot up.

Although I do see this screen:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/GraphicalInstall?action=AttachFile&do=get&target=boot.png