PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] different backgrounds in different workspaces



krishnakittu
June 8th, 2008, 08:07 PM
can i have different backgrounds in each of the workspaces in ubuntu 8.04

drs305
June 8th, 2008, 08:09 PM
I use an app named wallpapoz to do that but it's not in the repositories so there may be easier options.
http://wallpapoz.akbarhome.com/index.html

Here is a HowTo for wallpapoz:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=4714145

steveneddy
June 8th, 2008, 08:26 PM
wallpapoz is composite aware, also.

ajgreeny
June 8th, 2008, 09:34 PM
You can do this in kde (Kubuntu) but not gnome (ubuntu) as far as I'm aware.

drs305
June 8th, 2008, 09:55 PM
You can do this in kde (Kubuntu) but not gnome (ubuntu) as far as I'm aware.

So as not to create confusion, and since nobody has offered other solutions, you are talking about the 'composite' remark, correct?

I use wallpapoz without problems on ubuntu.

ajgreeny
June 8th, 2008, 10:35 PM
No, I meant that kde gives you the option to use different wallpaper on each workspace by default, gnome doesn't without third party apps. Sorry if this was not clear and confused you.

dadsbrkn
June 14th, 2008, 06:00 AM
FYI Wallpapoz is available as a .deb at www.getdeb.net/app/wallpapoz



fixed link

adobrakic
June 14th, 2008, 06:11 AM
^ link messed up
http://www.getdeb.net/app/Wallpapoz

rburkartjo
June 14th, 2008, 12:21 PM
krish, after you install wallpapoz do this to get a different wallpaper on each desktop. it works i am using it now.
Configuring:

1) Save all the wallpapers that you want to use in: "/home/accountname/Pictures" (the Pictures folder)
2) Click Applications-->Accessories-->Wallpapoz
3) On the workspace that you want to change wallpaper, click on the small arrow beside the number thats on the same line as rename this.
4) When that new line appears, right click on it and click "Change Wallpaper."
5) Locate your wallpaper (it should be in the Pictures folder) and select it.
6) Click both save and restart.
note you will have to restart wallpapoz everytime you reboot or you can just
add to the program to sessions./cheesemaker