PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need your help making an ubuntu firewall

mechanicalmetal
June 8th, 2008, 06:38 PM
Hey guys,

I am new to ubuntu and have been playing around with it for about 3 months now. I have alot down but not everything. I have ubuntu installed on my laptop (desktop edition) and I have a nice extra dell computer that I want to throw in a few NIC cards in to create a linux firewall. Can you guys let me know if ubuntu would be a good distro for a firewall for my home network? And if not, please tell me what I should use. I was looking at ubuntu server edition, so please advise. And settings for firewalls and stuff would be helpfull too!! Im a noob!!!

Thanks guys!!!

-Brandon

ibutho
June 8th, 2008, 06:47 PM
Any distro will work fine as a firewall as long as its configured correctly. Ubuntu server is a good choice and you can use Shorewall (http://www.shorewall.net) as a frontend to iptables and netfilter, if you wish. Another option is to use Ubuntus own frontend called ufw. I've never tried ufw, but shorewall is well documented and you can have your firewall configured in not time.

mechanicalmetal
June 9th, 2008, 12:41 AM
Thank you sir!

I will download Ubuntu Server edition now to install.

Cant thank you enough!

hyper_ch
June 9th, 2008, 10:09 AM
I'd rather go for debian server - but that's my personal opinion.

The Cog
June 9th, 2008, 12:53 PM
I was going to suggest guarddog as a firewall. I haven't looked at shorewall, but I don't think firestarter (which is is another popular firewall) has the flexibility for handling lots of NICs. I know guarddog is quite capable in this area.

All these firewalls are GUI wrappers round the command-line iptables utility whcih configures the firewall in the Linux kernel. Using iptables directly is a bit of a challenge.