PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] really newbie! want to migrate to ubuntu. help please

ziedrich
June 8th, 2008, 05:43 AM
Hi, nice to meet u all ^^. im still newbie here about ubuntu. I want to migrate from windows to ubuntu. I want to ask "some"question.

1. I'm now using dual booting ubuntu and windows xp(not wubi). what's the different between using wubi or dual booting?

2. I want to install build essensial but it said depends libc6-dev.. so i went to libc6-dev to install it, but it said depends libc6. so i went to libc6 but it has already installed.. so how i can install build-essensial?

3.when i wanted to install anjuta IDE using add/remove applications. it always said "Some of the packages could not be retrieved from the server(s).
Do you want to continue, ignoring these packages?" and when I wanted to add another package the same things happen.

4.I wanted to install from .tar i have extracted them, but when I typed ./configure the following command was written

checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output file name...
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.

I don't know whether i have all dependencies. how to know whether i have all dependencies or not. thanks all ^^.

Rocket2DMn
June 8th, 2008, 05:51 AM
1. Wubi installs Ubuntu to a file within windows, not a true separate partition. It can be installed/uninstalled from within windows like a program. A dual boot creates real partitions on the drive and we use GRUB to choose between the OSes.