PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] backup upgrades fill /boot



tuskpc
June 8th, 2008, 05:33 AM
Does anyone know of a way to prevent Ubuntu from saving older files in boot, once they have been upgraded? It keeps filling up my /boot partition each time it updates.

terminal:


ls -C
abi-2.6.24-16-generic config-2.6.24-16-generic initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic lost+found System.map-2.6.24-19-generic
abi-2.6.24-17-generic config-2.6.24-17-generic initrd.img-2.6.24-17-generic memtest86+.bin vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic
abi-2.6.24-19-generic config-2.6.24-19-generic initrd.img-2.6.24-17-generic.bak System.map-2.6.24-16-generic vmlinuz-2.6.24-17-generic
config-2.6.22-14-generic~ grub initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic System.map-2.6.24-17-generic vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic
tuskpc@tuskpc-laptop:/boot$ df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda7 23189076 7197748 14813364 33% /
varrun 512892 196 512696 1% /var/run
varlock 512892 0 512892 0% /var/lock
udev 512892 52 512840 1% /dev
devshm 512892 12 512880 1% /dev/shm
lrm 512892 38176 474716 8% /lib/modules/2.6.24-17-generic/volatile
/dev/sda1 46633 45991 0 100% /boot
/dev/sda6 88583232 76552488 7530940 92% /home
tmpfs 512892 38176 474716 8% /lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/volatile

avtolle
June 8th, 2008, 05:37 AM
I don't; but can you not delete the .16 kernel related stuff from Synaptic (mark for complete removal, then apply) as a stop-gap? Surely someone here will know the answer to your question, and can respond. Otherwise, is enlarging the /boot partition an option for you?

Oldsoldier2003
June 8th, 2008, 05:38 AM
I don't; but can you not delete the .16 kernel related stuff from Synaptic (mark for complete removal, then apply) as a stop-gap? Surely someone here will know the answer to your question, and can respond. Otherwise, is enlarging the /boot partition an option for you?

remove it using synaptic. search for linux-image the mark the old kernel images for complete removal

tuskpc
June 12th, 2008, 11:32 PM
Had to do [ $ sudo rm...] a few times before I could get Synaptic to work - kept getting a error after the [$ sudo dpkg --configure -a ]. Now it's working. Thanks to everyone who replied.