PDA

View Full Version : What was the worst Ubuntu release for you?

st33med
June 7th, 2008, 06:35 PM
You can also post here for your opinion of which release was the worst for you.

PLEASE, NO FLAME WARS!

st33med
June 7th, 2008, 06:42 PM
Edgy Eft was the worst because I could not get my wireless working at all, even through a guide.

cprofitt
June 7th, 2008, 06:43 PM
I am relatively new to Ubuntu so I only go back to 6.06...

8.04 has a lot to like, but it also has some real warts.

Twitch6000
June 7th, 2008, 06:47 PM
Well I have only been around Linux since early 07 or late 06.
The first ubuntu I used was 7.10.
The first Linux I used was Opensuse.
After the hell I had with opensuse I went to Pclinux2007 then ubuntu then DSL then around a few times then back to ubuntu.

Hex_Mandos
June 7th, 2008, 06:48 PM
Gutsy. It promised a lot, and delivered too little. And it came right after Feisty, the best OS release I've ever used.

jrusso2
June 7th, 2008, 06:55 PM
Gutsy. It promised a lot, and delivered too little. And it came right after Feisty, the best OS release I've ever used.

I agree Feisty was the best. But I have not found the worst yet, but then again I have not used Hardy yet.

fluteflute
June 7th, 2008, 06:56 PM
Feisty, it was my first release and everything has been uphill since then.

toupeiro
June 7th, 2008, 07:21 PM
I found 7.04 to be a bit frustrating. Thats when they implemented that gui video card configuration tool, and I would periodically have it completely break my xorg.conf with no system configuration changes set, just a simple reboot. Its since gotten much better.

cardinals_fan
June 7th, 2008, 07:50 PM
I loved Edgy. It was very clean. Since then each consecutive release has gotten more and more bloated. Gutsy was probably the worst. The Gutsy release struck me as beta-quality at best.

GCoffee
June 7th, 2008, 08:02 PM
Fiesty,