PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Epson DX3800 & Lexmark Z612 printers

iggyigg
June 7th, 2008, 12:13 AM
I'm an Ubuntu novice who has never had a functioning printer with Ubuntu yet. I have the 2 following (old!) printers and I'd like to see if you guys think that the problem is with the printers rather than with printer drivers etc with Ubuntu. I use Ubuntu 7.10 and the printer configurations are simply those which set up automatically. I know nothing about downloading printer drivers but as far as I can see, this would not help......but I'd be grateful for a confirmation of that or any other advice. My USB2 cable works fine.
As I use Ubuntu ONLY, I can't test them on Windows any more.

Epson Stylus DX3800
A friend of mine gave this to me, reporting (I believe) a paper feed problem. As he's even less tech-savvy than me, I thought it worth a try under Ubuntu. (My plan: if I can't get this one to work, then I'll buy a new one, same model, hopefully recycling cartridges from the old one!)

Under “Printer Configuration Settings”: the device URI is – usb://EPSON/Stylus%20DX3800.
Under “Make and Model” it's: Epson Stylus DX3800 – CUPS + Gutenprint v5.0.1 Simplified
Does the above look right to you?
Under “Printer State” it's “Processing”.

But the print jobs just get stored (as detailed in the document print status, when I click on the printer icon) and nothing happens. There's clearly a communication problem!

Under the “Tests and Maintenance” heading, when I click on the options “Print a Test Page”, “Print Self-Test Page” and “Clean Print Heads”, a message says “Submitted – Test page [etc] submitted as Job [No #]”
Nothing happens thereafter and 2 small lights just continue flashing (the green power light at the top and a red one immediately under it which (judging by the paper symbol) appears to relate to a paper feed problem.

When I try scanning with X-sane 0.991, I get “Error during read. Error during device I/O.”
And the photocopier doesn't work either........:(