PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Linux and need some help.

TimmyR41
June 6th, 2008, 05:26 PM
i am attempting to go to a linux operating system in an effort to resurrect a 7 year old dell desktop and i'm having some problems. first off i am totally new to anything linux. i figured it would be worth a try to see if i could get a little life back in my old computer before i go and buy a new one. i read some stuff on pcworld and it led me to believe that for a beginner in linux ubuntu was the way to go. so i downloaded the image and burnt it onto a cd. i tried the live cd version on my computer here at work and was quite impressed. i was very excited to take it home and do a full install on my personal computer but when i went to do the install i get an error stating that the installer requires 256 of ram. so i checked out my computer stats just to be sure that i remember what i had in the computer correctly.

my computer is a:
dell desktop (i forget what model number)
256 mb of ram
pentium 3 1ghz
it has a relatively wimpy graphics card. if i remember correctly it is a 64 mb
i have 2 hard drives installed. a 60 gig and an 80 gig. the 60 gig contains only my current operating system (windows xp pro) as well as my other programs(office pro 2003 is probably the biggest one)
i also have a sony dvd drive and a sony dvd burner

any thoughts as to why the installer won't detect my 256 mb of ram?

my computer has been runing at a dreadfully slow speed for a little over a year now and nothing i have done has been able to fix it. fortunatly in the past i have been able to use my parents computer but i just bought a house and will be moving out at the end of the month so its either time to buy a new one or figure something out with this one. thanks in advance for any help i get.

avtolle
June 6th, 2008, 05:30 PM