PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I just installed ubuntu on a 1TB drive...is this good?



hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 05:53 AM
Hi,

Should i shrink it and make 2 partitions ?

What should i do?

Thanks

iaculallad
June 6th, 2008, 05:58 AM
Installing Ubuntu on a 1TB drive (w/o any partition) would be an overkill. I mean, try creating partitions to be in the safe side for your data backups. You wouldn't want to store all your documents, music, movies, etc.. on a single drive without thinking of consequences.

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 06:01 AM
ok what to do..? a reinstall? shrink it?

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 06:06 AM
Any partition help on a clean install on a 1TB drive...?

Thanks..:popcorn:

Technoviking
June 6th, 2008, 06:09 AM
ok what to do..? a reinstall? shrink it?

Sound like you are fairly new to Linux. A re-install would probably be easier if you have your data backed up.

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 06:12 AM
Ok i'll boot back into the live cd then post here...

:(

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 06:22 AM
Sound like you are fairly new to Linux. A re-install would probably be easier if you have your data backed up.

Ok i back in the live cd...

how to i partition to say Operating System,home and the rest ext3

any suggestions on size etc...

thanks

Sef
June 6th, 2008, 06:29 AM
You want Ubuntu as the sole OS, right?

I would make the Ubuntu partition around 10 GB. A swap around 1 GB. The rest could be a home partition.

You would need to manually partition the hard drive. It is not
too hard to do, but it can be confusing the first time.

A basic tutorial:

1) Delete the partitions first, then highlight the free space (Enter):

2) For partition 1, set it as a primary partition (next) > 10 GB (next) > it should come up with root (/) > set it to be bootable > Done setting up the partition (Enter).

Highlight the remaining free space (Enter):

3) For partition 2, set it as a primary partition (next) > all except 1 GB (next) > set a home partition (/home) > Done setting up the partition (Enter).

Highlight the remaining free space (Enter):

4) For partition 3, set it a primary partition (next) > 1 GB (next) > Change ext3 to swap > Done setting up the partition (Enter).

5) From the main Partition Menu > highlight Finish partitioning and write changes to disk (Enter) > Yes

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 06:50 AM
Oh hi Sef nice to see you again..


> set it to be bootable > Done setting up the partition (Enter). in Gparted how do i achieve this?

thanks

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 06:53 AM
like this?

finalize it?

thanks..

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 07:16 AM
OK after I finalized it i set it to boot...

Dunno how to set the second one to home though?

Ok gonna try install...

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 07:22 AM
Ok am stuck..what do i do here?

Thanks..

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 07:29 AM
Ok i think i actually got it...go ahead?

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 07:52 AM
Well i did the install and get ERROR 17: Cannot mount...

Arrrrrhhhggg..

What do i do to fix?

skybreaker
June 6th, 2008, 08:21 AM
Hello, I am french, so sorry for any mistake,

your partition table is not good but and you have to define mount point for each ext3 partitions.

So first, create a 10GB partition for the system, another partition for your document on Ubuntu, and a third to store you document. Don't forget to create a 2GB swap.

I saw that you have another disk with ntfs partition so you may have windows.

If its true, set the third partition as ntfs too (ntfs3g works fine now) or fat32 to make this partition available on windows.

Else, set the three partition to ext3.

Next, when you prepare partition, select a partition and clic on the Edit button. On this new message box, define the mount point.

For the system 10 GB partition : /
For your home partition (document on system): /home
For your document : /media/document or /media/extra or /media/whatyouwant.

The swap partition dont have mount point so don't worry.

Sef
June 6th, 2008, 08:30 AM
Well i did the install and get ERROR 17: Cannot mount...

GRUB Error 17:


17 : Cannot mount selected partition
This error is returned if the partition requested exists, but the filesystem type cannot be recognized by GRUB.

Let me check and see if I can spot anything.

Also /sdd2 is only 1 GB. If you want to use it as /home, then you need to make it bigger.

Are you using the Live CD to reformat?

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 08:32 AM
i started a new thread as this was getting off topic here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=820251

i am awaiting your commands oh mighty one...

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 08:34 AM
How big should home be? Make it the rest of the drive?

Are you using the Live CD to reformat?

yes..

skybreaker
June 6th, 2008, 08:40 AM
For me, i think 3gb mini, Home is for your document, but for your configuration of some software too, skin, icons... so it must be the size that you need. If you have place on your hardrive, 10gb or more.

[edit]Have you just rezize partition or clean all and make new ?

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 08:43 AM
ok...
gonna do a new install right now..

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 09:01 AM
can i make it
10Gb as "/"
1Gb as "swap"
rest as "home"

what do you think? or is it better to do home as 3Gb as suggested....

btw am eagerly awaiting to install ubuntu...glued to the keyboard you might say...

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 09:23 AM
one guide says:
4.4.3. Where should I put my swap space?

The short answer is anywhere is fine. However, if you are interested in extracting as much speed as possible,
* Put each swap partition on the outer tracks.
so "swap" last?

please reply so i can start the install...

i appreciate your help..

_sphinx_
June 6th, 2008, 09:37 AM
Ok, I must say I may be wrong at this but I am quoting my experience. If your RAM is more than 1GB your swap doesn't really affect your speed of System. But if it is less than 512MB it does. My guess is that you have more than 1GB, so if you don't want to hibernate your System frequently you can place your swap anywhere, but if you do then I guess you should place it in outer tracks. I repeat I am not sure about my last statement but for the rest, I am pretty much sure.

billgoldberg
June 6th, 2008, 09:38 AM
can i make it
10Gb as "/"
1Gb as "swap"
rest as "home"

what do you think? or is it better to do home as 3Gb as suggested....

btw am eagerly awaiting to install ubuntu...glued to the keyboard you might say...

This is perfect.

After you partitioned, choose a manual install, and give the 10 gb "/", the 1 gb swap (from the list) and the 990 gb -> /home.

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 09:39 AM
Thanks...I got 4Gb Ram...

so last question then i can install make home the rest of the drive or make it 3gb? does it really matter?

hopelessone
June 6th, 2008, 09:39 AM
This is perfect.

Ok off i go...!!

_sphinx_
June 6th, 2008, 09:42 AM
I have 1GB RAM and 1GB swap and 99% of the time my swap usage is just 0%. Hope this make you more confident towards your 1GB swap.

billgoldberg
June 6th, 2008, 09:46 AM
Thanks...I got 4Gb Ram...

so last question then i can install make home the rest of the drive or make it 3gb? does it really matter?

If you make home only 3 gb, you'll get in trouble

/home is where you store everything, including videos, music, ...

so 3gb is way to little

but I see you already got it.