PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] How is Hardy' NTFS support? What other file systems work in both XP and Ubuntu?

BigWoop
June 5th, 2008, 07:29 PM
I'm not a linux expert, but as far as I know from reading a couple years ago, in linux ntfs is not that good, especially writing to ntfs volumes.

Is it any better these days and why is it not so good in the first place?

I'm interested because I want to set up a dual boot system with XP and Ubuntu, and have some volumes shared between the two OSes, so if not NTFS I have to use FAT32, unless there is another good file system someone can recommend that will work well in both.

Thanks.

shifty_powers
June 5th, 2008, 07:33 PM
used it lots, and never had a problem. It is true that the ntfs support was a bit flaky at first, but now, the ntfs3g drivers are top notch.

michaelaly
June 5th, 2008, 07:34 PM
I've had great results running a 500gb external on NTFS under Gutsy and Hardy. FAT32 works very well as a go-between file system as well. I haven't had any corrupted files, and there's a lot of reading/writing going on with very large files.
There are ways to get windows to read ext3 file systems I believe, but I'm not sure how well it works. Maybe someone else can post more information.

F4l3
June 5th, 2008, 07:34 PM
I'm not a linux expert, but as far as I know from reading a couple years ago, in linux ntfs is not that good, especially writing to ntfs volumes.

Is it any better these days and why is it not so good in the first place?

I'm interested because I want to set up a dual boot system with XP and Ubuntu, and have some volumes shared between the two OSes, so if not NTFS I have to use FAT32, unless there is another good file system someone can recommend that will work well in both.

Thanks.
the best supported is FAT32. But NTFS works pretty well :)

starcannon
June 5th, 2008, 07:37 PM
NTFS mounts, reads, and writes fine here.

BigWoop
June 5th, 2008, 07:40 PM