PDA

View Full Version : Is Ubuntu for You? Flowchart for absolute beginners to Ubuntu.

Mazza558
June 5th, 2008, 06:59 PM
http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/29948/Ubuntuforyou.jpg

What do you think? Just finished it a few minutes ago. It might be useful to send to people who are just slightly interested in Ubuntu. :)

Digg it here: http://digg.com/linux_unix/Is_Ubuntu_for_You_Flowchart_for_Ubuntu_beginners

lespaul_rentals
June 5th, 2008, 07:02 PM
That was hard to follow. I got lost several times.

cardinals_fan
June 5th, 2008, 07:06 PM
I also got lost. Starting with the idealogy seems questionable to me.

Mazza558
June 5th, 2008, 07:07 PM
Well, people often ignore the ideology. The fact is, a lot of the way Ubuntu works is through the way it's organised. If people don't accept that, what's the chance they'll accept any other aspects?

EDIT: Each option has 2 choices coming off it. Just follow one of the two options.

cardinals_fan
June 5th, 2008, 07:21 PM
Well, people often ignore the ideology. The fact is, a lot of the way Ubuntu works is through the way it's organised. If people don't accept that, what's the chance they'll accept any other aspects?

The question I would ask first is whether you consider your computer a means or an end. If you say the latter, Windows is better for you.

acelin
June 5th, 2008, 07:24 PM
The question I would ask first is whether you consider your computer a means or an end. If you say the latter, Windows is better for you.

Ehh not so much. Most of the Ubuntu users I know at my college just use it for the basics, and dont bother with a lot of stuff. I know Windows users who are very technically advanced when it comes to working with their machines.

Redrazor39
June 5th, 2008, 07:28 PM
I like your flowchart. I agree with starting with the ideology. That's one of the most important differences here.

Also, just clean it up a bit. instead of lines, have arrows. Put everything in neat rows, etc.

I like the colors :)

sanderella