PDA

View Full Version : [kde] KDE versus GNOME

G-Dub
June 5th, 2008, 03:40 PM
I am very very new to the world of Linux. I am currently running Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Hardy Heron. I've been seeing a lot about GNOME, it appears as though I have GNOME installed on my computer(?) But I have also seen a lot on something called KDE. What is the difference? Can I have both installed?

Anzan
June 5th, 2008, 05:12 PM
Yes, you can have both. In fact, you can also have Xubuntu, Awesome, Window Maker, ratpoison, Fluxbox, Openbox, Blackbox and many other window managers installed.

Of course it's best to keep it simple and just try things out.

You can easily install and uninstall DEs and WMs if you don't like them so it's no problem.

The best thing to do would be to use Synaptic.

Just search for Kubuntu.

Have fun.

Naegling23
June 5th, 2008, 05:24 PM
ubuntu by default runs gnome.

gnome and kde are both desktop environments. This basically means that they are packages of programs that run on linux.

Some of the programs that they run have to do with the look and feel of the computer, so they look very different from each other. By default they also have some different programs such as media players, office suits, email clients, IM clients, etc. All of these programs will run on the other, for example, amarok is a kde program, you can install it in gnome, the only problem is that it is designed to look like a kde program, so it will look like it does not fit in with the rest of your desktop.

You can go to www.kde.org to see what kde has to offer. Currently they are working on 4.1 which is pretty exciting for the kde users.

You can also install both of them side by side. Just go into adept and install kde-desktop. This will install all of the kde programs. On your login screen, you will have an option to load into gnome or kde. The downside to all of this is that you get a whole bunch of programs installed, and your menu's start to get pretty cluttered.