PDA

View Full Version : Howto: Make Firefox handle aim:goim links properly



ming0
October 25th, 2005, 07:19 PM
Now you can make Firefox and Gaim handle the little IM links properly ( i.e. href=Aim:goim?screenname=whateversclever).

1.) open Gaim's buddy list and open: tools > preferences

2.) on left pane, click "plugins". in main pane, find "remote control" and make sure it is enabled

3.) in a new firefox tab (ctrl + t) in the address bar, type about:config

4.) right click and choose "new" > "string"

5.) in the first box add the following value
network.protocol-handler.external.xmpp 6.) in the second box add the following value
true 7.) right click again and make another "string"

8.) in the first box add the following value

network.protocol-handler.app.xmpp 9.) in the second box add the following value
/usr/bin/gaim 10.) test it out here: Send a message to ming0 (aim:goim?screenname=thegoodstufsgone&message=Hi+there,+I+am+an+uberdork.)

11.) when the "external protocol" box pops up, check the "remember this choice" box and click "launch application"

12.) yippe! it worked! (IM me if it didn't)

majikstreet
October 25th, 2005, 08:35 PM
It worked! W00t!

I only have one correction: when you right click, you need to select "New" then "String".

:)

I installed the extension, and AIM link still open in a new tab

ming0
October 26th, 2005, 04:52 PM
I installed the extension, and AIM link still open in a new tab you know, now that I reset, I'm getting an extra tab too :(

Edit: I figured it out--first I was clicking on my extra link and then I tried the one on my profile <---- That one doesn't spawn an extra window...

BTW, thanks for the correction ;)

Technoviking
October 26th, 2005, 05:34 PM
Does Gaim have to be running?

Mike

NeoChaosX
October 26th, 2005, 06:30 PM
Just tested it - yeah, Gaim has to be running and logged on.

Still, this is useful.

majikstreet
October 26th, 2005, 08:40 PM
you know, now that I reset, I'm getting an extra tab too :(

Edit: I figured it out--first I was clicking on my extra link and then I tried the one on my profile <---- That one doesn't spawn an extra window...

BTW, thanks for the correction ;)
No problem.... But, I wish it didn't open a new tab....