PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Uninstalling Packages

BBurnham
June 5th, 2008, 06:35 AM
right, so let's get start out with what all forums like to see, i'm a newbie when it comes to linux. i'm also a 3D modeling student who uses Autodesk Maya at my school. well i've downloaded the appropriate software, but what i downloaded were .rpm packages. I did not convert the .rpm to .deb like a few other forums had said <-- that was found out after the fact. well now i'd like to uninstall the .rpm and properly convert them to .deb for a cleaner install. the maya interface seems very sluggish and unresponsive, which is what i was hoping my linux os would not give me.

here is the message i get when i try to uninstall the .rpm package

brian@Caveman:~$ sudo apt-get remove Maya2008_0-2008.0-116.i686.rpm
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package Maya2008_0-2008.0-116.i686.rpm
brian@Caveman:~$

thoughts?

iaculallad
June 5th, 2008, 06:53 AM
I did not convert the .rpm to .deb like a few other forums had said <-- that was found out after the fact. well now i'd like to uninstall the .rpm and properly convert them to .deb for a cleaner install. the maya interface seems very sluggish and unresponsive, which is what i was hoping my linux os would not give me.

here is the message i get when i try to uninstall the .rpm package

brian@Caveman:~$ sudo apt-get remove Maya2008_0-2008.0-116.i686.rpm
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package Maya2008_0-2008.0-116.i686.rpm
brian@Caveman:~$

thoughts?

Could that be possible? To install .rpm files without converting it to debian "readable" format?