PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.04 two times installed!

RoyRogers
June 4th, 2008, 10:36 AM
I have installed 8.4. Really happy with it. :D. I made a mistake though.. First install didn't succeed. Install no. 2 is ok. Problem: I now have two instances of 8.04. Tried to remove the first via gparted, but it says...not allowed to remove /sda5 og /sda6.

From gparted it looks like this:
/dev/sda1 NTFS
/dev/sda2 NTFS
/dev/sda3 NTFS
/dev/sda4 extended
/dev/sda7 ext3
/dev/sda8 linux-swap
/dev/sda5 ext3
/dev/sda6 linux swap

I wanted to incorporate sda5 and sda 6 into sda7 and sda8, where 8.04 are installed. HOWTO pls. Must say that I am a newbie tho linux but i wreally like it.

Mine system is dualboot with XP

wdaniels
June 4th, 2008, 10:41 AM
Best to boot back into the live CD and alter the partitions from there - you can't change a partition while it's in use.

clarkyscored
June 4th, 2008, 02:26 PM
I have installed 8.4. Really happy with it. :D. I made a mistake though.. First install didn't succeed. Install no. 2 is ok. Problem: I now have two instances of 8.04. Tried to remove the first via gparted, but it says...not allowed to remove /sda5 og /sda6.

From gparted it looks like this:
/dev/sda1 NTFS
/dev/sda2 NTFS
/dev/sda3 NTFS
/dev/sda4 extended
/dev/sda7 ext3
/dev/sda8 linux-swap
/dev/sda5 ext3
/dev/sda6 linux swap

I wanted to incorporate sda5 and sda 6 into sda7 and sda8, where 8.04 are installed. HOWTO pls. Must say that I am a newbie tho linux but i wreally like it.

Mine system is dualboot with XP

I've got this exact same issue. I went to change it from the live cd and screwed up the grub though. I'm too scared to do it again...

Are there any other ways?

Pumalite
June 4th, 2008, 02:29 PM
Go Manual and delete the partitions within the extended one. Then make new ones for the new installation.

clarkyscored
June 4th, 2008, 02:35 PM
In partition editor, mine looks like this.

/dev/sda1 ntfs (windows)

/dev/sda8 extended 38.75gb
/dev/sda8 ext3