PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screen resolution 640 x 480 issue

dhew
June 3rd, 2008, 04:02 PM
---------------------------------------
| UPDATE: I fixed it! See several posts below this |
---------------------------------------

Hey

So Im really new to Ubuntu, but managed to get it installed with no problem (8.04). However, after install, my screen resolution has been 640 x 480 with no option to change it. I've searched and searched the forums and support docs and can't seem to find a solution to this issue. When I run "xrandr -q" I am told that the only resolution I can have is 640 x 480. I am running this on an old dell with integrated intel graphics, and can't seem to find anything on how that changes things.

I came from XP, so know that this system is beyond capable of running a much higher resolution (like 1280x1024)...I just can't seem to figure out how to force that here.

Any ideas?

PS;
as I mentioned, I'm new, so please go into the details.

Thanks!

lok
June 3rd, 2008, 04:29 PM
Hey mate. If you can't use System > Preferences > Screen Resolution
This might be worth a try:

Edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file (Don't forget to make a backup)
Go to the Screen section(usually near the end) and in the SubSection "Display" part add the line:

Modes "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"

example:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "..."
Device "..."
Monitor "..."
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

X will automatically use the first mode. But for safety's sake it's best to use a small resolution until you know what one is best.

When you have that done. Logout and when the login box comes up hit Ctrl + Alt + Backspace(this restarts X11 and gets it to look over what's in the xorg.conf file)

dhew
June 3rd, 2008, 06:06 PM