PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "Not all upgrades can be installed"

DavidFourer
June 3rd, 2008, 12:44 PM
Since upgrading to Hardy, I've been getting a failure when I try to upgrade packages. Some packages install, but I get error message

Not all upgrades can be installed
possible problems:
* previous update did not complete
* problems with some of the installed software
* unofficial software packages
* normal changes of a pre-release version of Ubuntu
The packages that are greyed out are:
* Recommended upgrades:
f-spot
linux headers generic
linux image - 386 (no version number)
linux image - generic
* Distribution updates:
gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse
libgtk1.2
libmjpegtools 0c2a
mjpegtools
mplayer

Can anyone tell me what this means? I have limited knowledge of this stuff. I have Linux on my home Dell notebook compluter and I can usually keep it working. Since Hardy, I've had to re-install Firefox2 and I have trouble with sleep so I sometimes boot from old kernel, though now I'm running 2-6-24-16-generic

dogdog
June 3rd, 2008, 01:07 PM
I run Ubuntu Gutsy Heron 8.04 LTS upgraded from 7.10 at end of April. When I switch on PC it shows 103 updates available to install. I go to Update Manager and click on install updates. Nothing happens - the "egg timer" icon spins but the PC stays like this and does not go to next stage. I have left PC like this for a long time. I do not get any error message. I have to reboot to get rid of spinning icon.

What is going wrong??

christianxxx
June 3rd, 2008, 01:10 PM
I had the same problem a few days ago. 100+ updates, but it refused to install updates for f-spot and openoffice.
I resolved (by itself?) after a couple of days.

ajgreeny
June 3rd, 2008, 01:12 PM
Open synaptic and look in the system bar at the bottom. It may tell you there are broken packages on your system. If so go to Edit>>Fix Broken Packages and that may sort it out.

If that doesn't work, try in terminal
sudo dpkg --configure -a and that may help, or